Don't lose your right to earn a living over a traffic citation!
When you drive any commercial vehicle, a ticket could jeopardize your job.
According to the California DMV, if you are stopped by a police officer and cited for a traffic law violation, you sign a promise to appear in traffic court. When you go to court, you may plead guilty or not guilty, or you may forfeit (pay) the citation fine. Paying the fine is the same as a guilty plea.
The DMV keeps a public record of all your traffic convictions and collisions. Each occurrence stays on your record for 36 months, or longer, depending on the type of conviction.
The Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) is based on negligent operator points and consists of a computer generated series of warning letters and progressive sanctions against the driving privilege.
You may be considered a negligent operator when your driving record shows one of the following “point count” totals.
- 4 points in 12 months
- 6 points in 24 months
- 8 points in 36 months
If you get 4 points in 12 months you will lose your driver license.
A violation received in a commercial vehicle carries one and one-half times the point count normally assessed.
Traffic School is no longer an option for truckers in California
I can fight speeding tickets and any moving violations that can end your right to make a living as a commercial truck driver!
Remember, if you ignore the traffic ticket and do not keep your promise to appear in court, the failure to appear (FTA) also goes on your driver record. If you fail to pay a fine (FTP), the court will notify the DMV, and this will also show on your driver record. Even one FTA or FTP can cause the department to suspend your license. Ending the suspension will cost you a reissue fee of $55.
Each time you are convicted of a moving traffic law violation, the court notifies the DMV, and the conviction is placed on your driver license record. Convictions reported by other states are also added to your driver record.